fbpx
de Deutsch en English

About Magic Masters

Short version of our eventful history

January 1990

Start of a collaboration

The roots of Magic Masters go back to 1990. The Frankfurt producer Thomas Schmitt-Zijnen was commissioned to produce the “Moody Blues Classix” project. The greatest hits of the sixties and seventies cult band "Moody Blues" should be reborn in the modern pop-symphony sound.

January 1990

January 1991

Foundation of MPT

Schmitt-Zijnen quickly realized that this project was too complex to be able to cope with all tasks alone. He decided to hire someone to do the engineering. His choice a lot on Thomas Korge. Both knew each other because they worked in numerous studios, not just in Frankfurt.

At this point, both had already been active in studios for a good decade and had not only produced with an astonishing number of national and international greats, they had also contributed to a number of successful productions.

The predecessor of Magic Masters, the "Music Production Team" (MPT for short) emerged from the collaboration.

Autumn 1991

"Dolphin Studios" project

While the "Moody Blues Classix" was being produced, MPT received the order from a German-American label to set up and manage a large studio with an international class. The "Dolphin Studio", which is still legendary today, was created in Mörfelden. A studio that was one of the few of its time that offered everything from rehearsing studio to two production rooms with Neve & SSL digital and analogue. The “icing on the cake” was the mastering studio, in which at that time almost everything that had rank and name had their productions refined. Rock, Pop, Schlager, Dance (and much more) - stylistically everything was worked on with great expertise.

Autumn 1991

July 1995

incision

The year 1995 then represented a bitter turning point for "MPT". The German-American label, which had initially commissioned the management of the complex, got into turmoil due to a series of wrong decisions, which also endangered the continued existence of the studio. Korge and Schmitt-Zijnen decided to leave the "sinking ship" and founded Magic Masters digital data on January 1st, 1996.

January 1996

Foundation of Magic Masters

Foundation of Magic Masters digital data in Darmstadt.

The name is a bow to Michael "Mike" Staab's chart-topping project "Magic Affair. Mike acted as a silent partner until shortly before his premature death (2009). Staab, Schmitt-Zijnen and Korge knew each other from various productions, not least of all." from working on Magic Affair.

January 1996

End 2001

Moving to Frankfurt

Since it was getting too tight in Darmstadt, Magic Masters moved into the premises of the "Art of June" studio to cooperate with owner Heinz Hess.

October 2007

Relocation within Frankfurt

Once again, more space was needed, so Magic Masters moved to Daimler Strasse in autumn 2007, where the studios are still located today.

October 2007

November 2020

restart

Magic Masters digital data becomes Magic Masters - Thomas Korge.

After the unexpected Tod from Thomas Schmitt-Zijnen, Thomas Korge decides to lead Magic Masters into a new future as the last of the three founders. The restart was on November 1st, 2020

AUDIO & MUSIKPRODUKTION

Von der ersten Idee bis zur fertigen Produktion - oder jeden Zwischenschritt - bieten wir kompetent alles aus einer Hand.

MASTERING

Kreativität und technische Präzision.
Egal, ob Audio oder Video, hier erhält jede Produktion ihren finalen Schliff.

AUDIO / VIDEO

Bild ohne Ton? Nicht bei uns! Informieren Sie sich über unsere Services rund um den guten Ton, der das Bild erst perfekt macht.

Über uns

Kurzfassung unserer bewegten Geschichte

Januar 1990

Start einer Zusammenarbeit

Die Wurzeln von Magic Masters gehen zurück auf das Jahr 1990. Der Frankfurter Produzent Thomas Schmitt-Zijnen erhielt den Auftrag, das Projekt „Moody Blues Classix“ zu produzieren. Die größten Hits der sechziger und siebziger Jahr Kultband „Moody Blues“ sollten im modernen Pop-Symphonie Sound neu erstehen.

Januar 1990

Januar 1991

Gründung MPT

Schmitt-Zijnen wurde schnell klar, dass dieses Projekt zu komplex war, um alle Aufgaben alleine bewältigen zu können. Er entschied sich fürs Engineering jemand anzuheuern. Seine Wahl viel auf Thomas Korge. Beide kannten sich, da sie sich in zahlreichen – nicht nur Frankfurter – Studios die Klinken in die Hand gaben.

Beide waren bereits zu diesem Zeitpunkt ein gutes Jahrzehnt in Studios aktiv und hatten nicht nur mit einer erstaunlichen Anzahl nationaler und internationaler Größen produziert, sie hatten darüber hinaus ihren Teil zu etlichen erfolgreichen Produktionen beigetragen.

Aus der Zusammenarbeit entstand der Vorgänger von Magic Masters, das „Music Production Team“ (kurz MPT).

Herbst 1991

Projekt "Dolphin Studios"

MPT erhielt noch während der Produktion der „Moody Blues Classix“ von einem deutsch-amerikanischen Label den Auftrag ein Großstudio, mit internationaler Klasse aufzubauen und zu leiten. Es entstand das bis heute legendäre „Dolphin Studio“ in Mörfelden. Ein Studio, das zu den wenigen seiner Zeit gehörte, das vom Rehearsing Studio, über zwei Produktionsräumen mit Neve & SSL digital und analog alle Möglichkeiten bot. Das „Sahnestück“ war das Mastering Studio, in dem damals fast alles, was Rang und Namen hatte, seine Produktionen veredeln lies. Rock, Pop, Schlager, Dance (und noch viel mehr) – stilistisch wurde alles mit großer Expertise bearbeitet.

Herbst 1991

Juli 1995

Einschnitt

Das Jahr 1995 stellte dann eine bittere Zäsur für „MPT“ dar. Das deutsch-amerikanische Label, das den Auftrag zur Leitung des Komplexes initial erteilt hatte, geriet durch eine Reihe von Fehlentscheidungen in Turbulenzen, die auch das Studio in seinem Fortbestand gefährdeten. Korge und Schmitt-Zijnen entschlossen sich, das „sinkende Schiff“ zu verlassen und gründeten zum 1.Januar 1996 Magic Masters digital data.

Januar 1996

Gründung Magic Masters

Gründung von Magic Masters digital data in Darmstadt.

Der Name ist eine Verbeugung vor Michael "Mike"Staabs Chartstürmer Projekts "Magic Affair. Mike fungierte bis kurz vor seinem viel zu frühen Ableben (2009) als stiller Teilhaber. Staab, Schmitt-Zijnen und Korge kannten sich von diversen Produktionen,nicht zuletzt auch von der Arbeit an Magic Affair.

Januar 1996

Ende 2001

Umzug nach Frankfurt

Da es in Darmstadt zu eng wurde, zog Magic Masters in die Räumlichkeiten des "Art of June" Studios, um mit Inhaber Heinz Hess zu kooperieren.

Oktober 2007

Umzug innerhalb Frankfurts

Erneut wurde mehr Platz benötigt, so zog Magic Masters im Herbst 2007 in die Daimler Straße, wo sich die Studios bis heute befinden.

Oktober 2007

Image
Image